Nostalgia Friday: Summer Vacations

Hello everyone! Instead of doing a review I decided to share some childhood memories of summer vacation. When you are a kid the summer time was always fun and exciting. The first memory  I have of going out of town was when I went to Hilton Head. That was a magical place because when your small everything looks bigger than usual. I remember very green grass and tall trees, and when I walked barefoot  on the grass it felt like carpet.

When we first got to Hilton Head,  we saw a tree on a car and it was damaged pretty bad. I was a little frightened, but I think the person was okay. After that I remember us checking into a little house, and there were ants everywhere. It was an eventful first day, so my parents called someone to get it taken care of. We didn’t have any problems after that, and so the vacation began.

Once we got settled in,  we went to the beach and it wasn’t far from where we were staying. I remember it being windy  on the beach, and the salt water got into my mouth, but I still enjoyed myself. I was having fun! I was putting my toes in between the sand, walking along the beach with my mom. The water was freezing but I got used it after a while, it was a beautiful warm day. After that we went to a little  shop, and I remember getting an ice cream bar it was chocolate.

We went to the beach several times while we were there, and that was all I can remember. Ever since then I have always loved the ocean. The smell of the salt water, the sound of the waves brushing up against the sand, and collecting sea shells.

My family and I didn’t always go out of town for the summer, but I always did fun things at home too. I remember going to the park or the pool. I remember playing jump rope with my friends, and getting ice cream from the ice cream truck. I also remember just playing outside with them, and then we would come inside and watch nickelodeon.

When I became a little older like 9 I would visit my grandmother, aunts, and cousins in Indiana. We would go the beach, and  being involved in tons of activities  like swimming lessons, but I can’t seem to remember them all. I would celebrate my birthday while being there. So going to Indiana, and Hilton Head are my fondest memories of summer. What are some of your fond memories of summer as a child?

Leave a Reply

