RUSHMORE (NOSTALGIA FRIDAY REVIEW)

It’s another review for nostalgia Friday!!! I just watched Wes Anderson’s Rushmore, and I must say it was a pleasant surprise. It’s very quiet, it has a decent pace, and it’s funny, so this movie is about a quirky teenager Max Fischer played by a young Jason Schwartzman, and he is involved in a whirlwind of extracurricular activities. He’s in the German club, Astronomy, writes and directs  his own plays, president of the Chess club, french club, and captain of the fencing team. The film had a lot more activities than that but from that list you can tell the character is pretty ambitious.

Max has a crush on the school teacher at Rushmore, and he tries to build her an aquarium in her honor. Unexpectedly she tells Max upfront that he’s too young for him, and that she finds him interesting. Through out the film he tries to pursue her, and it’s obvious that she wants nothing to do with her. This film is very charming and I always enjoy light comedies with quirks. I myself am considered to be a quirky person because I’m the only one out of my circle of friends know who Wes Anderson is. I like indie movies, and listen to unusual music.

I give this film 3/5 stars its a little slow in the beginning but it picks up rather nicely in the middle. After seeing this I got to give Jason Schwartzman props because  all of the other movies I’ve seen him in I couldn’t identify with the character. But with this one I could, minus the compulsive lying, and law breaking. It’s just that his character is different, and he doesn’t have a problem with it.  So if you can tolerate a comedy that’s simple, sweet, and entertaining then this movie is for you.  Thank you for reading, and feel free to comment, and re-blog.

Leave a Reply

