https://twitter.com/#!/Amina1984

https://twitter.com/#!/Amina1984

I want to take a minute to do a full blog about learning differences. I know this is supposed to be a review blog but I am also using this site to promote my autobiography about my learning differences. I have Non verbal learning disorder, and dyscalulia. It has taking me years to overcome obstacles of dealing with both. It’s still a work in progress, so I will explain to you what these learning differences are. Nonv-verbal learning disorder in a nutshell is a A neurological disorder of the right cerebral hemisphere in which the processing of nonverbal and visual-spatial information is impaired, leading to deficits in balance and coordination, pattern recognition, mathematical ability, and visual memory. For me this means inability to understand the big picture, having balance (LITERALLY) Trying to understand non verbal ques. not able to know my left from right.

I don’t do well in social settings I’m highly sensitive to noise, sight, and sound. People with this disorder also have a strange but strong sense of smell. When I say I’m clumsy I mean that LOL!  I have trouble wearing high hill shoes because of my balance I trip on my feet without it being anything there. Once again this happens because of the imbalance of the  right side of my brain. Being a female I could probably get away with being clumsy. But as a human being it can be extremely embarrassing. I try my best to overcome these obstacles and I want to be able to have a normal life, and be independent. Making friends can be difficult sometimes,but I’m lucky enough to have friends that I can count on my hands. Dating is hard for me sometimes because I’m not that type of girl who can just walk up to a guy I find cute.

I have all of these scenarios about what could go wrong. On to the dyscalulia this disorder is a mathematical issue. I have problems with understanding the greater than and less than symbols, plus and minus, in an equation, and so forth. It took me years of tutoring, and I’m in the last stage of my remedial math. I didn’t get diagnosed until I was 24 so it was like I had to start all over again. Whenever I see stories or articles with people who deal with learning differences I can identify with them because it’s not easy. However the ones that I have are not that mainstream, and that is why I want to write a book about them to share my story. I want to reach out to people who share these same challenges. I am on a facebook support group and interact with the people on there as much as I can because it helps to know someone who is going through the same thing you are. So feel free to comment and ask questions. 

Leave a Reply

